I Have This to Say About That

I have noticed that when you reach a certain age (80+!), people are apt to look at you in a startled way if you say something intelligent or even witty. You’ve been stereotyped as a befuddled old dear who is still unaccountably doddering about in public. At some social gatherings, you may be either totally ignored, or else fussed over by a patronizing altruist who feels duty bound to compliment you on being “alert.”

Although I show signs of wear, I’m not a mental wreck, and I still have a few opinions I wish to express. So listen up!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nancy Wilbourne on June 1, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    I enjoyed the article in the paper and articles in your blog. As a senior, an avid reader, and long-ago English teacher, I love your descriptions and humor in writing.

    Reply

  2. WELL SAID I SEE THIS OFTEN IN MY LINE OF WORK(PHARMACY TECH)

    Reply

  3. Posted by marion on March 15, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    I don’t know of any senior citizen who hasn’t experienced this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

